The Sixth WMO International Workshop on Tropical Cyclones (IWTC-VI)  
 
Working Group Members (updated on 10 October 2006)
 

Topic 1:

Tropical cyclone structure and structure change
  Name Affiliation Email address
Chaiman Hugh Willoughby Florida International University, USA hugh.willoughby@fiu.edu hewil45@bellsouth.net
1.1 Environmental effects on tropical cyclone structure and Structure Change
  Rapporteur Liz Ritchie Department of Atmospheric Sciences/Institute of Atmospheric Physics
University of Arizona
ritchie@atmo.arizona.edu
  Team Members Jason Dunion Hurricane Research Division, AOML, Miami jason.dunion@noaa.gov
    Mark Guishard BAS-Serco Ltd.
Bermuda Weather Service
mguishard@bas-serco.bm
    Sarah Jones Institut fuer Meteorologie und Klimaforschung
Universitaet Karlsruhe / Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe
Kaiserstr. 12, 76128 Karlsruhe, GERMANY

sarah.jones@imk.uka.de
    Sytske Kimball Department of Earth Sciences, LSCB 136
University of Southern Alabama
skimball@usouthal.edu

    Chi-Sann E. Liou Naval Research Laboratory
liou@nrlmry.navy.mil
    Yuqing Wang Department of Meteorology and International Pacific Research Center
School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology
University of Hawaii at Manoa

yuqing@hawaii.edu
1.2. Tropical cyclone Inner-core dynamics
  Rapporteur Jeffrey D. Kepert Bureau of Meteorology Research Centre, Australia J.Kepert@bom.gov.au
  Team Members Michael Foley Bureau of Meteorology Regional Forecasting Centre, Darwin, Australia m.foley@bom.gov.au
    Jeff Hawkins Naval Research Laboratory, Monterey, USA
Jeff.Hawkins@nrlmry.navy.mil
    James Kossin University of Wisconsin-Madison kossin@ssec.wisc.edu
    David S. Nolan

Division of Meteorology and Physical Oceanography, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science,
University of Miami
dnolan@rsmas.miami.edu
    Melinda S. Peng

Marine Meteorology Division
Naval Research Laboratory
Monterey, USA
peng@nrlmry.navy.mil
    Yuqing Wang

Department of Meteorology and International Pacific Research Center,
School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology,
University of Hawaii at Manoa

yuqing@hawaii.edu
    Samuel Westrelin Meteo-France / RSMC La Reunion samuel.westrelin@meteo.fr
         
1.3. Air-sea interface and oceanic influences
  Rapporteur Nick Shay University of Miami, USA nshay@rsmas.miami.edu
  Team Members Peter Black Hurricane Research Division, NOAA/USA Peter.Black@noaa.gov
    Mark Donelan University of Miami, USA mdonelan@rsmas.miami.edu
    Greg Holland National Center for Atmospheric Research, USA gholland@ucar.edu
    Kerry Emanuel Massachusetts Institute of Technology emanuel@texmex.mit.edu
    Jenni Evans Pennyslvania State University evans@meteo.psu.edu
    Isaac Ginis University of Rhode Island iginis@gso.uri.edu
    Carlos Lozano National Centers for Environmental Prediction, USA Carlos.Lozano@noaa.gov
    Chun-Chieh Wu Pacific Science Association cwu@typhoon.as.ntu.edu.tw
         
1.4. Operational techniques in defining tropical cyclone structure
  Rapporteur Mr Mark Lander University of Guam mlander@uog9.uog.edu
  Team Members      
         
1.5. Operational guidance and skill in forecasting structure change
  Rapporteur John Knaff Cooperative Institute for Research in the Atmosphere (CIRA),
Colorado State University
Foothills Campus
Knaff@cira.colostate.edu
  Team Members James (Jim) Kossin University of Wisconsin-Madison,
AOSS/SSEC/CIMSS
kossin@ssec.wisc.edu
    Todd Smith Bureau of Meteorology, Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia Todd.Smith@bom.gov.au
    Charles (Chip) Guard Weather Forecast Office (WFO) Guam NOAA / National Weather Service Chip.Guard@noaa.gov
    Timothy (Tim) Marchok Princeton University Forrestal Campus, USA
Timothy.marchok@noaa.gov
    Charles (Buck) Sampson Naval Research Laboratory
Monterey, USA
Sampson@nrlmry.navy.mil
    Naomi Surgi  NCEP/Environmental Modeling Centre  Naomi.surgi@noaa.gov
         
Special focus topics:
1a. Tutorial on the use of satellite data to define tropical cyclone structure
  Rapporteur Chris Velden University of Wisconsin – CIMSS, Madison, USA Chris.velden@ssec.wisc.edu
  Team Members James Kossin University of Wisconsin – CIMSS, Madison, USA kossin@ssec.wisc.edu
    Jeff Hawkins Naval Research Laboratory Monterey, USA Hawkins@nrlmry.navy.mil
    Derrick Herndon University of Wisconsin – CIMSS, Madison, USA Derrick.Herndon@ssec.wisc.edu
    Ray Zehr CIRA/Colorado State University
Foothills Campus
USA
zehr@cira.colostate.edu
    Roger Edson Science and Operations Officer, WFO Guam Roger.edson@noaa.gov
    Tetsuo Nakazawa Typhoon Research Department Meteorological Research Institute
Japan Meteorological Agency
nakazawa@mri-jma.go.jp
    Philippe Caroff Meteo-France
CMRS de La Reunion
philippe.caroff@meteo.fr
         
1b. Field experiments related to tropical cyclone structure (CBLAST & RAINEX)
  Rapporteur Peter Black,

Hurricane Resarch Division, NOAA, USA
Peter.Black@noaa.gov
Shuyi Chen University of Miami, USA
schen@rsmas.miami.edu
  Team Members Bob Houze Department of Atmospheric Sciences
University of Washington, USA
houze@atmos.washington.edu
    Wen-Chau Lee EOL/NCAR
Boulder, USA
wenchau@ucar.edu
    Bradley Smull Department of Atmospheric Sciences
University of Washington, USA
smull@atmos.washington.edu
    William Drennan RSMAS, AMP, University of Miami, Miami, FL
wdrennan@rsmas.miami.edu
    Jeff French University of Wyoming, Laramie, WY
jfrench@uwyo.edu


    Chris Fairall NOAA/ESRL, Boulder, CO
Chris.Fairall@noaa.gov
    Edward Walsh NASA, Boulder, CO
Edward.Walsh@noaa.gov
    Eric Terrill Scripps, La Jolla, CA
eterrill@uscd.edu
    Ken Melville Scripps, La Jolla, CA
melville@mpl.ucsd.edu