The Sixth WMO International Workshop on Tropical Cyclones (IWTC-VI)  
 
Working Group Members (updated on 10 October 2006)
 

Topic 2:

Tropical cyclone formation and extratropical transition
  Name Affiliation Email address
Chaiman Patrick Harr Naval Postgraduate School USA paharr@nps.navy.mil
2.1 External influences on formation
  Rapporteur Bill Frank Pennysylvania State University frank@ems.psu.edu
  Team Members Greg Holland National Center for Atmospheric Research, USA gholland@ucar.edu
    Phil Klotzbach Colorado State University, USA philk@atmos.colostate.edu
    John McBride Bureau of Meteorology Research Centre, Australia J.Mcbride@bom.gov.au
    Paul Roundy IRES, USA Paul.Roundy@noaa.gov
    John Molinari    
         
2.2. Internal influences on tropical cyclone formation
  Rapporteur Mike Montgomery Naval Postgraduate School USA mtmontgo@nps.edu
  Team Members      
         
2.3. Operational forecasting of tropical cyclone formation
  Rapporteur Jeff Callaghan Bureau of Meteorology, Australia J.Callaghan@bom.gov.au
  Team Members      
         
2.4. Observing and forecasting of extratropical transition
  Rapporteur Jenni Evans Pennysylvania State University evans@meteo.psu.edu
  Team Members Naoko Kitabatake Meteorological Research Institute, Japan Meteorological Agency nkitabat@mri-jma.go.jp
    Sim Aberson NOAA/AOML/HRD Sim.aberson@noaa.gov
    Jack Bevan NOAA/TPC/NHC John.l.beven@noaa.gov
    Chris Fogarty Environment Canada Chris.Fogarty@ec.gc.ca
    Ron McTaggart-Cowan SUNY - Albany or McGill rmctc@sca.uqam.ca
    Chris Velden University of Wisconsin Chris.velden@ssec.wisc.edu
    Andrew Burton Bureau of Meteorology, Australia A.Burton@bom.gov.au
    David Roth NOAA David.roth@noaa.gov
    B Hagemeyer NOAA/NWS  
    Scott Spratt NOAA/NWS  
    J Sienkiewicz    
         
         
2.5. Physical processes and downstream impacts of extratropical transition
  Rapporteur John Gyakum McGill University
gyakum@zephyr.meteo.mcgill.ca
  Team Members Robert Hart FSU Meteorlogy rhart@met.fsu.edu
    Lance Bosart SUNY-Albany bosart@atmos.albany.edu
    Chris Fogarty Environment Canda Chris.Fogarty@ec.gc.ca 
    Ron McTaggart-Cowan SUNY-Albany or McGill rmctc@sca.uqam.ca
    Melinda Peng Naval Research Laboratory Melinda.peng@nrlmry.navy.mil
    Ryn Torn University of Washington torn@atmos.washington.edu
    Michael Riemer Institut fuer Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, Universitaet Karlsruhe - Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe Michael.riemer@imk.uka.de
         
Special focus topics:
2a. The Catarina phenomenon
  Rapporteur Pedro Silva Dias Brazil pldsdias@master.iag.usp.br
  Team Members Manoel Gan CPTEC/INPE/Brazil gan@cptec.inpe.br
    John L. Beven NOAA/USA John.L.Beven@noaa.gov
    Alexandre Pezza Melbourne University/Australia apezza@unimelb.edu.au
    Greg Holland NCAR/USA gholland@ucar.edu
    Augusto Pereira University of Sao Paulo/Brazil apereira@model.iag.usp.br
    Ron McTaggart-Cowan University of Albany/USA rmctc@sca.uqam.ca
    Francisco de Assis Diniz INMET/Brazil adiniz@inmet.gov.br
    Marcelo Seluchi CPTEC/INPE/Brazil seluchi@cptec.inpe.br
    Hugo J. Braga EPAGRI/Brazil hjb@epagri.rct-sc.br
         
2b. Special Focus Session THORPEX: a focus on tropical cyclone related research
  Rapporteur Jim Abraham
Canadian Environment Service
jim.abraham@ec.gc.ca
  Team Members