The Sixth WMO International Workshop on Tropical Cyclones (IWTC-VI)  
 
Working Group Members (updated on 10 October 2006)
 

Topic 3:

Tropical cyclone motion
  Name Affiliation Email address
Chaiman Russell Elsberry Naval Postgraduate School, USA elsberry@nps.edu
3.1 Advances and requirements for operational track prediction
  Rapporteur Tsz-cheung LEE Hong Kong Observatory tclee@hko.gov.hk
  Team Members Duong Lien Chau National Center for Hydro-Meteorological Forecasting, NHMS MONRE, Vietnam dlchau@nchmf.gov.vn
dlchau@yahoo.com
    Philippe Caroff RSMC La Reunion, CYC Direction Interrgionale de La Reunion, Meteo-France
Philippe.caroff@meteo.fr
    Alan Radford UK Met Office, UK alan.radford@metoffice.gov.uk
    Julian Heming UK Met Office, UK julian.heming@metoffice.gov.uk
    Eun-Jeong Cha Typhoon Forecast Office, Forecast Department, Korea Meteorological Administration, Republic of Korea cha@kma.go.kr
    Nobutaka Mannoji National Typhoon Center
Japan Meteorological Agency (RSMC Tokyo)
mannoji@met.kishou.go.jp
rsmc-tokyo@met.kishou.go.jp
    TIAN Cuiying Department of Forecasting Service and Disaster Mitigation, China Meteorological Administration (CMA) tiancy@cma.gov.cn
    Ali Shareef Department of Meteorology
Maldives
shareef@meteorology.gov.mv
    Wes Browning Central Pacific Hurricane Center
NOAA
wes.browning@noaa.gov
    S K Subramanian RSMC New Delhi, India sksubramanian@gmail.com
    Prisco Nilo Operations and Services, PAGASA, The Philippines pdnilo@pagasa.dost.gov.ph
    David Richardson Meteorological Operations Section, ECMWF, UK david.richardson@ecmwf.int
         
3.2. Improvements in understanding and prediction of tropical cyclone motion
  Rapporteur Sim Aberson Hurricane Research Division, AOML, NOAA, USA Sim.Aberson@noaa.gov
  Team Members Chun-Chieh Wu Pacific Science Association cwu@typhoon.as.ntu.edu.tw
    Greg Hakim   hakim@atmos.washington.edu
    Harry Weber-Philipp Meteorological Institute University of Munich  harry@meteo.physik.uni-muenchen.de
    Jim Goerss   jim.goerss@nrlmry.navy.mil
    Martin Leutbecher   Martin.Leutbecher@ecmwf.int
    Morris Bender   morris.bender@noaa.gov
    Sharanya Majumdar RSMAS/MPO, University of Miami smajumdar@rsmas.miami.edu
    T. N. Krishnamurti   tnk@io.met.fsu.edu
    Steve Tracton Office of Naval Research tractos@onr.navy.mil
    Greg Tripoli University of Wisconsin, USA  tripoli@aos.wisc.edu
    Zoltan Toth NOAA  zoltan.toth@noaa.gov
         
3.3. Targeted observation and data assimilation in track prediction
  Rapporteur Chun-Chieh Wu Pacific Science Association cwu@typhoon.as.ntu.edu.tw
  Team Members Sim Aberson Hurricane Research Division, AOML, NOAA, USA sim.aberson@noaa.gov
    Brian Etherton University of North Carolina Charlotte betherto@email.uncc.edu
    Sharan Majumdar University of Miami smajumdar@rsmas.miami.edu
    Michael Morgan University of Wisconsin at Madison mcmorgan@wisc.edu
    Melinda Peng Naval Research Laboratory melinda.peng@nrlmry.navy.mil
    Steve Tracton Office of Naval Research ensemblemean@yahoo.com
    Zhaoxia Pu University of Utah pu@met.utah.edu
    Samuel Westrelin Meteo-France samuel.westrelin@meteo.fr
    Munehiko Yamaguchi Japan Meteorological Agency m-yamaguchi@met.kishou.go.jp
    Seon K. Park Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Korea spark@eqha.ac.kr
         
Special focus topics:
3a. Sharing experiences in operational consensus forecasting
  Rapporteur Andrew Burton Severe Weather Services
Bureau of Meteorology, Australia
A.Burton@bom.gov.au
  Team Members Todd Smith Bureau of Meteorology, Australia Todd.Smith@bom.gov.au
    Edward M. Fukada Joint Typhoon Warning Center
Hawaii
edward.fukada@navy.mil
    Charles R. (Buck) Sampson Naval Research Laboratory, Monterey, USA sampson@nrlmry.navy.mil
    Mr Phiippe Caroff RSMC La Reunion, Meteo-France philippe.caroff@meteo.fr
    Mr James Franklin National Hurricane Center
NOAA/NWS/Tropical Prediction Center
James.Franklin@noaa.gov
    Mr Tetsuo Nakazawa Japan Meteorological Agency nakazawa@mri-jma.go.jp