The Sixth WMO International Workshop on Tropical Cyclones (IWTC-VI)  
 
Working Group Members (updated on 10 October 2006)
 

Topic 5:

Disaster mitigation, warning systems and societal impacts
  Name Affiliation Email address
Chaiman M C Wong Hong Kong Observatory mcwong@hko.gov.hk
5.1 Evaluating the effectiveness of warning systems
  Rapporteur Woo-Jin Lee Korea Meteorological Administration wjlee@kma.go.kr
  Team Members Wenjie Dong National Climate Center of China Meteorological Administration, China dongwj@cma.gov.cn
    M Alimullah Miyan South Asian Disaster Management Center (SADMC), International University of Agriculture and Technology, Bangladesh
miyan@iubat.edu
    Rosa Perez Flood Forecasting Branch, PAGASA , Weather and Flood Forecasting Center, Philippines rtperez1@yahoo.com
    Alan Sharp

Tropical Cyclone Warning Services, Severe Weather Warning and Disaster Mitigation Services, Bureau of Meteorology, Australia a.sharp@bom.gov.au
    Peter J. Bowyer Canadian Hurricane Centre Peter.Bowyer@EC.GC.CA
    Charles (Chip) Guard GUAM, USA Chip.guard@noaa.gov
    Thakur Prasad Director General of Meteorology(C)
Office of ADGM(R)
Shivajinagar Pune, India
tprasad@imdmumbai.gov.in
    Edwin S.T. Lai Hong Kong Observatory stlai@hko.gov.hk
    J. Weyman Regional Specialized Meteorological Center Honolulu/Weather Forecast Office, Honolulu, USA James.Weyman@noaa.gov
    Nobutaka Mannoji RSMC Tokyo, Japan Meteorological Agency mannoji@met.kishou.go.jp, or
rsmc-tokyo@met.kishou.go.jp
         
5.2. Factors contributing to human and economic losses
  Rapporteur Roger Pielke Jr University of Colorado pielke@cires.colorado.edu
  Team Members Ryan Crompton Risk Frontiers - NHRC
Macquarie University, Australia
rcrompto@els.mq.edu.au
    Eberhard Faust Department of Geo Risks Research/Environmental Management Munich efaust@munichre.com
    Joel Gratz Center for Science and Technology Policy Research,
University of Colorado
joel.gratz@colorado.edu
    Manuel Lonfat Risk Management Solutions, London manuel.Lonfat@rms.com
    Qian Ye Center for Capacity Building
National Center for Atmospheric Research
qianye@yahoo.com
    S. Raghavan Indian Meteorological Society
Consultant to Indian Space Research Organisation
manmatha@dataone.in
raglaksh@yahoo.com
raglaksh@gmail.com
         
5.3. Mitigation strategies and community capacity building for disaster reduction
  Rapporteur Linda Anderson-Berry Bureau of Meteorology, Australia l.anderson-berry@bom.gov.au
  Team Members Jeffrey K. Lazo Weather Information Societal Impacts Program,
National Center for Atmospheric Research, USA
lazo@ucar.edu
    David King Centre for Disaster Studies,
James Cook University,
Queensland, Australia
David.King@jcu.edu.au
    Mike Bergin Weather Services,
Bureau of Meteorology, Australia
m.bergin@bom.gov.au
    Terry Hart Disaster Mitigation and Severe Weather Services, Bureau of Meteorology, Australia
t.hart@bom.gov.au
    James Weyman RSMC and Weather Forecasting Office Honolulu, US NOAA National Weather Service james.weyman@noaa.gov
    Hilda Lam Hong Kong Observatory hildalam@hko.gov.hk
 
Special focus topic
5a. Report to the IWTC-VI on the PROGRAM FOR IMPROVEMENTS TO HURRICANE INTENSITY FORECASTS AND IMPACTS PROJECTIONS (HiFi)
  Rapporteur Greg Holland,

Roger Lukas
National Center for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, Colorado
University of Hawaii-Manoa, Honolulu, Hawaii
gholland@ucar.edu